Seeking Direction with a Personal Compass

So many things keep me busy these days that this blog doesn’t get nearly as many updates as I’d prefer, but my daily draw today (The Hermit) told me to take some *me time* — and I intend to do just that. Tarot seemed like the perfect solution, seeing as my Linestrider deck arrived today. AND I finally got a chance to catch up on my dear friend’s triumphant return to tarot bloggery: la reine de l’air!

Well, she did a full moon reading inspired by Kayla’s reading, which used Little Red’s very lovely looking Personal Compass Spread. At first, I thought to myself, “Personal compass? Probably not a spread I can use at the moment, but I’ll read her post anyway, of course.” And then as I was reading it I began to realize that a compass is exactly what I need right now!

PersonalCompass_061015

_______________________________________________________________________

1. You at this moment.

[Ten of Wands] Oh my god, when I flipped over this card, I just wanted to cry because, like, I AM that girl just sittin’ there with all those wands on her back. I feel like I have so many burdens to bear at the moment. My husband is out of the country for work (has been for 4 months now), so I’m handling everything at home, plus being as much of an emotional respite for him as I can. When he comes back in a month or so, we’ll be moving, and I’m the one charged with finding us a new place to live—plus I need to find myself a new job in the new city. Not to mention, you know, my current job which keeps me so busy that I don’t even have time to *think* about anything productive when I get home in the evenings. So yeah. Definitely me at this moment.

_______________________________________________________________________

2. Crossing card; something which you are carrying at this time.

[Three of Pentacles] ALL the partnerships and ALL the threads. Again, very true. I’m my husband’s only tie to *home*, which means everyone comes to me for updates about him, and it means he basically *only* comes to me for everything he can. I’m a bit of a tie-that-binds at my current job, meaning I’m the one that connects many aspects of our business together, and it’s becoming tricky to figure out all the threads. (I mean, how much better could that illustration be with the bird trying to sort all those strings?!) Also, I’ve got pulls in all sorts of directions from people wanting me to *not move away* (like I’m doing it because I want to?!). Argh.

_______________________________________________________________________

3. Basis: what has brought you here.

[Ten of Cups] The perfect, happy home. The reason I’m in this situation to begin with is that I encouraged my husband to take this job as it seemed the best course for him moving forward. We’ve stayed on this course, as uncomfortable as it’s been, because we still believe it is pushing us into the next phase of our life together. Basically, I want him to be as happy and comfortable with his career as possible, and I’m willing to make sacrifices (like move to a new city and leave a job I love), in order to make that happen. (Also, I love that these cards have birds on them. My husband and I are huge bird lovers. ^_^)

_______________________________________________________________________

4. Something which is leaving your life.

[Two of Pentacles] A balance I’m comfortable with and know well. I’m not sure how to take this card, completely. Maybe it means that I won’t be the one having to juggle all the things now, since my husband will be providing us with a second income now? I’m hoping it means that what’s leaving my life is my need to juggle so many things at once, and not that what’s leaving my life is the balance. I’m open to other interpretations…

_______________________________________________________________________

5. Something which is coming into your life.

[Ten of Swords] Roadkill?! A dead horse which has been beaten to a mangled, bloody pulp?! I expect this is telling me to freaking give up on the idea of keeping my current job in *any* capacity, and just stop wishing down that goddamn well, because it has dried up. OKAY. I GET IT.

_______________________________________________________________________

6. Resources you can call upon in moving forward (x3 cards).

[The Lovers, Three of Cups, Queen of Cups] Like, at this point I kinda feel like the cards are just trolling me: my lover, my friends, and myself. Are THOSE my resources? Okay, okay, let me take a step back. What attracts me, what makes me want to celebrate, and what inspired my muse… that sounds better, yeah? I mean, at least I’m on the right track if I’m looking toward friends and family, and doing plenty of soul searching at the same time. Hmmm…

_______________________________________________________________________

7. A word of advice.

[Judgment] Every time I see this card, I think “level up!” Which makes me think that maybe my boss was right. (She told me that she would be remiss to keep me as a telecommuter after I move, because she would be holding me back from moving on to new opportunities where I can blossom and grow. Seriously, do you SEE why I don’t want to STOP working for this woman?! <3) So I’m taking this as advice to remember that this is my chance to evolve and step up into a new stage in my career. (The funny/sad thing is that I keep getting this sort of feedback, but I still have NO IDEA where I’m headed… hence this reading.)

_______________________________________________________________________

8. A purpose or direction in which to head.

[Queen of Swords] Oh my gosh, so much UP, THE POINTING going on here. I should head up, higher, in the general direction of la reine de l’air?! Well! That could mean SO many things. But all of it good. Basically, I need to be looking UP, using my clever brains to land myself a nice, new position with a better view. Okay, then. I’m going to stop being a wuss about it and finally say:

CHALLENGE ACCEPTED.

_______________________________________________________________________

5 thoughts on “Seeking Direction with a Personal Compass

  1. Yikes!! Good luck with all that. It’s a shame you have to leave a job you love so much, but who knows what the new city will bring? Sometimes we have to be The Fool and take that leap, trusting the cosmos to deliver something we didn’t know we needed. I like this spread, will have to give it a try.

  2. Wow that deck is beautiful!!! How did you get it so early? Not only is it beautiful but it seems to have provided you with such a fitting reading!! I hope everything has gone well for you since this post.

    Ps. I’m really loving your blog, and yes you may have noticed I’ve been reading from the first post ^_^

    • Isn’t it gorgeous?! I backed her project on IndieGoGo, which is how I got my hands on a copy of the deck already!

      And thank you so much — I’m glad you’ve been enjoying my blog! (Sorry it took me so long to reply to your comment. My life has been a complete whirlwind for the past couple of months!)

Comment

