Where the Heck Have I Been?

I haven’t been very active around here in a while, but I have actually been doing more tarot stuff (and more fulfilling tarot stuff) than I have in the past. I do have several ideas and drafts and things that I want to explore on this blog, but I just do not have enough time in my life to do all the things I want to do. So here’s a few random updates about tarot and me.

Tarot Collage Fun

Knight of Cups - 9/14/13

Knight of Cups – 9/14/13

Ever since I first discovered that group, I’ve been attending at every opportunity. I’ve missed a handful of weeks in there, but I have now made 16 tarot cards of my very own! I absolute love this class, and I’m really glad they decided to start delving into the court cards (and eventually all of the pips!) instead of sticking to the Major Arcana.

Every week I learn something new, and it’s such a great chance to commune with other like-minded people and have some fun creating art! I feel like I’ve definitely gotten better at — and more comfortable with — the whole collage thing, even if I’m not completely satisfied with every card I make. The most recent card I’ve made is the Knight of Cups, which you can see over there to the right. Check out my Collage -My-Own-Tarot page to see all of the ones I’ve made so far.

Building My Collection

The Wooden Tarot

The gorgeous, gorgeous Wooden Tarot

Aside from creating my own tarot cards, of course I can’t help but keep acquiring more decks! Since I last checked in, my collection has grown from 12 to 16 decks. As I reblogged a while back, the Animism Tarot deck I’d been watching Jo work on for years now is finally complete! I purchased it immediately, and I absolutely love it! I also bought the Dreaming Way deck because a friend from the collage class had it and I loved the illustrations so much I just needed to have it for myself.

I also love to back tarot Kickstarter projects (when the price is right), and my latest acquisition is the Wooden Tarot. Normally I don’t like to go for the Major Arcana Only decks, but the art was so lovely that I couldn’t help myself. Plus, she included the Aces, so that’s something. Aaaaand as an awesome surprise, one of my online BFFs sent me an early birthday care package last week, with a book and a tarot deck! She sent me the Archeon Tarot, which is the one she uses so I’m excited to try it out more.

Oof, and I almost forgot about the Color Your Own Tarot deck that Irmata basically FORCED me to purchase! That’s FIVE new decks I’ve acquired recently! Take a look at my Collection page to see them all.

(Erm, not to mention the Amanda Palmer deck I backed on Kickstarter recently. I’m not a huge AP fan, but this seemed way too interesting and special to pass up.)

I know what you’re thinking.

None of this has actually really explained where I’ve been, so um, oops. Look, my life is just ridiculously busy. And now that I’ve been off The Meds (well, not all of them, but a specific drug) for several months now, my muse has actually returned! So now that I’m coming awake again, my brain is kind of overflowing with inspiration and IDEAS and projects and THINGS I WANT TO DO. I have lists and drafts and scribbles and notes EVERYWHERE so I can try to keep up. It’s awesome and amazing and it feels so good. I’m just trying to hold onto the reigns and do what I can with it.

There will be much more coming from me, eventually. No idea when, though. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m gonna go try to cross some more things off my list before the Muse adds 5 more things to it.

[Also, I just noticed there are mice in both of the cards I included in this post!]

13 thoughts on “Where the Heck Have I Been?

  1. wHAT DO YUO MAEN AMANDA PALMER DECK?? AND I MISSED IT??? omg i am cry :””””””C

    But hooray for the return of your Muse and another card to add to your collage deck! My new tarot buddy is a collager, so when she has a better grip on the cards, I won’t be surprised if she starts her own deck too. And if she doesn’t, I will be sure to plant that bug in her brain.

    After all, I am very good at *forcing* people to do things ;D

    • You know, I thought of you when I saw that AP deck and I kept meaning to email you about it. But then sometimes I stop myself because I feel like I’m just sending you things you don’t like (like perhaps that Lisa Frank thing I sent you a a week or so ago? D:)…

      BUT. Since I’m not big on AP and YOU apparently ARE… I feel as if we may be able to come to some sort of arrangement. You know, once I finally have the deck in my hands. ;D

      • =_._= my bad. I got your email, but I was hermitting, and it was on my list of things to do, but I was staying away from teh ebil interwebs and… it got missed *sad* You don’t annoy me AT ALL. EVER.

        I’m not a huge AP fan either, but the deck looks like it has potential to be an amazing collection of art. I would only ever agree to trade you if it was something you genuinely didn’t like once you got it. No stealsies the preciousesss!

        More confused really as to how The Man totally missed it, seeing as he follows AP on twitter AND backs her other KS projects…

        • Okay, whew! Just making sure. :D

          And yeah, I was surprised that The Man didn’t mention it to you either. He must have seen it! Although, perhaps not. Since this project was initiated by AP fans and isn’t *directly* related to AP, she may not have tweeted about it or whatever. I think I only saw it because I go to Kickstarter like once a week and search for “tarot” lol.

  2. Yessss, very happy to see this this morning :) I also have recently added Archeon Tarot to my wish list – looks interesting! I love your card collages, they’re coming along very nicely!

  3. Haven’t used Archeon yet, but I’ve been looking at the images online and they’re interesting…. it’s different than the decks I tend to love (Wildwood, DruidCraft, Llewellyn, etc), and I like sometimes to use a deck that I wouldn’t normally be drawn to, to see what it brings out in a reading. I did just order the Halloween Tarot which I’m excited about :)

    • I like doing that, too. I was skeptical about the Darkana deck because the art style is so different from what I prefer, but it ended up being really easy for me to read and now it’s one of my favorites!

      Someone brought the Halloween deck to my collage class last week. It was pretty entertaining! I hope you enjoy it. :)

    • Hehehe, yay! Sometimes I just can’t help myself. :) The only problem is, now I’m starting to have trouble deciding which deck to use when I want to do a reading! But many of them do have certain personalities.

      I’m really happy with the Dreaming Way. The illustrations are similar to RWS but have a very distinct, much more visually-appealing style. It’s quickly becoming one of my favorites. :)

      • Yes they do have personalities!

        My first deck ever, Mystic Dreamer, reminds me of an honest friend who thinks too much, over analyzes things, emotional.

        Tarot of the Mystic Spiral is my all time favorite. Very honest and deep, but sometimes makes me think too hard.

        My Ancient Italian is like a wise old grandfather. Straightforward.

        Deviant Moon is like a stubborn, bratty sibling. Doesn’t share very well at all!

        My RW decks are the clearest. Very unemotional and blunt.

        My Enchanted Map Oracle is like a sweet, caring, gentle, fairy godmother, but maybe too kind and shelters me from harsh realities.

        I have yet to read with my newest decks, Shadowscapes, Golden Botticelli and Universal Fantasy.

Comment

