My First Gig

It’s probably pretty obvious (if you’ve visited this blog at all) that I don’t get a lot of tarot practice outside of the occasional reading for myself and the daily draws. I will say, though, that the weekly tarot collage group I’ve been meeting with has been a fantastic experience and has really helped me feel more comfortable with the cards, with my own intuition, and with talking about tarot.

This past week, my best friend asked me if I’d like to come over and give her a reading. Actually it was another friend’s idea (I like to think of her as the tarot enabler of the group), but the point is that we were all going to get together for some tarot! So Saturday night we all met at BFF’s house and had some fun. Now I’ve done a few readings for these women over the past couple of years, but this was different.

This felt like my first real tarot gig.

Joie de Vivre Tarot

I set up shop in the office (of their ranch mansion :P) and my friends and their husbands gathered ’round for the readings. When prepping for the evening, I’d asked my husband how many decks I should bring. He said three. I ended up bringing two: Joie de Vivre and McCullough, and let each person/pair choose the deck they wanted for the reading. I figured Joie de Vivre would be a good, positive deck to use; not to mention, it’s one I’m more familiar with than others in my collection. I chose the McCullough deck because it’s gorgeous and new and I want to play with it more, but also because it generally feels close enough to RWS that I feel comfortable with it.

So how did it go?

The Chariot - McCullough Tarot

The Chariot – McCullough Tarot

It went great! My friends and their husbands are going through some pretty major life changes right now, so this was really a great time for readings. I did individual readings. I did couples readings. I did multiple readings for some people. I did a random, impromptu reading for my friend’s brother who showed up unexpectedly. (The question: will he get laid this month? The answer: 5 of Swords, 7 of Swords, The Tower. I laughed so hard. Poor guy.) I did some readings for my BFF’s little sister, too. Each person seemed satisfied and grateful by the end of the night, which really made me happy.

Some observations.

  1. Having some alcohol in my system really helped. I know they say you should be sober and stuff when reading, but I was really glad I did this. At my weekly tarot group, we usually have a couple glasses of wine, and I’ve found it really helps to loosen me up and allow the intuition to start flowing better. Now, I had to be careful I didn’t let myself get too far over the edge, but a slight buzz was a great asset.
  2. This is the most intuitive I have ever been with the tarot. It was incredibly satisfying, encouraging, and helpful. I just looked at the cards and read what they said, and it was brilliant! Not once did I consider consulting a LWB or other source of extra information. The cards spoke to me so loudly and clearly that I felt very confident with my readings. I felt like an actual pro (as opposed to every other time I’ve read for others).
  3. Repeated/rephrased questions were met with restated/rephrased answers. I think one of the things that really drives it home for me — and did for them — is that the tarot don’t lie. You ask the same question, you’re going to get the same answer. This really helped to confirm things, especially for my BFF (especially when I was reading for her husband alone later and he got the same answers). Not only does this help the querent, but it also helps me as a reader to know that I’m on the right track.
  4. The McCullough tarot deck is freaking awesome. At first everyone was using the Joie de Vivre, but I whipped out McCullough for BFF’s brother’s quick reading and everyone was like “Hey, that deck looks cool!” so I got to start using it more. Dude, the image on those cards are just so good. Incredibly illustrative and gorgeous. I can’t tell you how hilarious and helpful the 5 of Cups was each time it came up (it shows a guy passed out on a table, surrounding by 5 cups of wine in various states of emptiness/spillage)! Seriously, if you have some extra cash and want a new deck? BUY IT.

I totally had a blast.

Everyone went home happy, and I got some very valuable experience as a tarot reader. I can’t wait to do it again!

7 thoughts on “My First Gig

  1. Congratulations, sounds like everything went well! I do love the McCullough Deck, sadly I can’t justify buying any decks right now (just had to sell one for some cash). Ah well, maybe someday.

    • Aww, thanks! Yes, it was awesome. I understand not being able to buy any more decks atm. It’s usually a special occasion when I get one, and the McCullough was a rare insta-purchase from a local artist at a con, so I couldn’t pass it up! :)

  2. Oh my gosh, I know exactly how you feel about the alcohol! When I sip a beer or something it honestly opens my mind and loosens my nerves. I love doing readings after I’ve had a bit to drink :)

  3. Pingback: Intuition vs. the LWB (and Reading without Bias) | her sixth circle

Comment

