Magic is Everywhere

(This whole thing is kinda stream-of-consciousness, and I apologize, but I’m so excited right now that I have to get this down while it’s hot and fresh.)
A Magic player's tools: deck and playmat (off-camera: dice!)

A Magic player’s tools: deck and playmat (off-camera: dice!)

This morning my husband got up before dawn and drove a few hours away to participate in a tournament for Magic: the Gathering. This particular tournament was a Pro Tour Qualifier, which means that if you win first place, you get invited to the next Pro Tour event (which = big prizes and prestige and stuff). It’s been a year and a half now that he’s been actively participating in as many of the PTQs as he can, along with any other kind of Magic tournament he can get to.

Each time we go to an event, it is with bottled hope and enthusiasm. He’s a good player. He’s placed very well in a lot of tournaments over the past 18 months. But the Pro Tour had thus still eluded his grasp. We’ve watched as a friend — one we often travel with to these events — has won a few PTQs now and enjoyed himself quite thoroughly. So far he’s been to Spain, Philadelphia, and San Diego. This upcoming Pro Tour? It’s in Ireland. (Needless to say, we are gunning for him to go to THIS one.)

Anyway.

So all day today I went on with my day, running errands and preparing for a long week of travel starting tomorrow. When he’s away at these events, I try my best not to think about it or bug him because I don’t want to break his concentration, and I don’t want to be too *positive* when things may not be going well. Or whatever. You know what I mean, right?

Double Anyway.

Mystic Faerie Tarot - Magician

Mystic Faerie Tarot – Magician
(Just imagine those are Magic cards in his hands instead of playing cards.)

My daily draw card for today was The Magician, and so I spent the day contemplating what it meant for me today. I’ve tried hard to break the habit of applying my daily draw card to him / the tournament because it never really helped. (I swear, it was like every time I got a Ten of Cups, it was a sign that he would have a horrible experience in the tournament!)

As the day went on, and I hadn’t yet heard from him, I took it as a good sign. The longer he goes without messaging me, the better he’s doing in the tournament. On my way home from awesome tarot collage class tonight, a lovely thought occurred to me.

The Magician = Magic. The Magician = #1 in the Major Arcana. My husband is going for first place in a Magic tournament. It was like this little spark of connection and optimism and rightness. And as much as I try not to think “he’s going to get first” as a plea to the Universe or whatever… at this moment, it all clicked together so well that I just made me sigh a happy sigh.

About an hour later, I got a text message from him.

We are going to Ireland. 1st / 166.

Jesus Effing Christ, I am still just bursting out of my skin an hour later! I am so goddamn proud of him! Ireland is going to be amazing (did I mention they pay for his flight and lodging for like 8 days?) — but beyond that? I’m so fucking goddamn proud of him, I’m crying right now.

Today, Magic is everywhere.

(God damn, I’m so proud. This might seem like the nerdiest thing ever, but I don’t give a shit. He’s been working so hard for this and I love him so much and it’s so the best thing ever.)

6 thoughts on “Magic is Everywhere

  1. Wow, that is fantastic! I’m so envious, I’d give my eye teeth to go to Ireland. I hope you have a fabulous time, and blog all about it! Congratulations to your husband :D

    • Hehehe, thank you!! :D

      Yeah, you have to be into it to get… into it. >_>
      The first time a friend tried to convince me to play, it went way over my head, too. Then a few years later I sought it out on my own and had a much better time of it. :)

Comment

