Welcome to Amygdala’s

a·myg·da·la [uhmig-duh-luh]
noun

  • A ganglion of the limbic system adjoining the temporal lobe of the brain and involved in emotions of fear and aggression.
  • Shown in research to perform a primary role in the processing of memory and emotional reactions.

I was walking through the Forest* with a young girl and two younger boys. We were heading toward a specific part of the Forest, an objective in mind. The boys kept running off and ignoring their responsibilities; something was attacking the Forest. The girl kept using her Power to protect the Forest, but the price was that it aged her many years.

We came upon the largest and most important tree in the Forest, and while the boys ran around like idiots, the girl summoned all her power and healed the weakened tree, repairing the protective barrier that surrounded it. We went up to the side of the tree where there was a large glass wall and we could see inside.

Inside was R (yes, you, R!) — an immortal being — doing Very Important Work to maintain the integrity and life of the Forest. She asked the girl, “You did that to protect the forest?” and the girl nodded humbly.

“How old are you now?”

“Two hundred and twenty five thousand years,” she said.

We gaped in amazement (and at this point when I looked at the girl, a nameplate appeared in my vision in front of her, with her age listed below her name. I don’t remember her name, though.), so I knew she was telling the truth.

R dismissed us, but said that if we ever needed to come back, or if she called us back, then we should use the back entrance. We went around behind the tree where there was a small, grassy knoll. Round back of the knoll was the entrance. An oblong shape barely able to be seen in the grass, with the words Welcome to Amygdala’s burned(?) into the grass.

I thought it was beautiful and memorable, so I took out my phone to take a picture of it. But when I looked at it through the camera, it changed (became distorted) and two small holes opened up, ready to spurt poison out at me! I gasped in surprise and the girl hurriedly urged me to put my phone away.

We continued on with our journey through the Forest, away from R, the boys completely gone now. But soon, the girl was called back, and made her way alone toward the secret entrance to Amygdala’s.

At this point, the scene changed, and apparently this had all been a movie I was watching on DVD at my in-laws’ house. The movie was called Welcome to Amygdala’s, and the cover had a picture of that back entrance on it.

I don’t know who the girl was, or could have resembled. She was small, around 12 years old, with chin-length, dirty-blond hair. Obviously not very similar to either R or me.

As of right now, I’m still trying to process this. I know it is important, but it’s just circling my brain, swirling, not allowing me to find the answer.

*Look, I know you hate unnecessarily capitalized words as much as I do, but in this context, these words (Forest, Power, etc.) are proper nouns.
4 thoughts on “Welcome to Amygdala’s

  1. ~*Oooooooh*~ LOVE the name! It sounds like a book that would be turned into a screenplay and win all the Oscars.

    Immediately: a camera would be the modern equivalent of “faerie ointment”, showing the Truth when faced with glamour, because “They” can fool a human eye, but not technology. Don’t know why the back entrance (GIGGLE) was so antagonistic though; maybe it’s shy? (-Resist urge to make joke about back entrance and holes that squirt poison and FAIL-)

    See if you can get in touch with the Girl again; she might be part of you, who will show you the way to remembering. And remembering in the _right_ way; very important.

    Did I ever tell you that I have a room inside the Tree? It’s very cute and gnome-cottagey. Mostly what I do there is rest though, nothing Important ;)

Comment

