30-Day Tarot Challenge: Bonus!

This post is part of my 30-day tarot challenge (created by Ree @ Ephemeral Starlight). To see the rest of my posts for this challenge, please check here.

If you could create one card to add to your deck, what would it be called and what would the card’s meaning be?

Four of Masks - The New Tarot by Warren Tusk

Four of Masks – The New Tarot by Warren Tusk

You know, I’ve sometimes been in situations where I though “Heh, why isn’t there a tarot card to describe this?” — but now that I’m being put on the spot, I can’t think of any of them. This is also probably a bad question for me to try to answer, since I’m still learning the tarot and don’t have an intimate familiarity with ALL the cards yet. So I could sit here and invent a card, only to realize that it’s already in the deck!

Interestingly, though, there is a New Tarot that I find quite intriguing. I backed the Kickstarter project back in 2012 and have been really impressed with all of their updates so far. Each card and suit is unique and very applicable to one’s life. I like it because it expands on the original tarot, and you could even mix them all together if you were feeling bold enough.

The Major Arcana of the Tarot proper are often understood as the way-stations of a “Fool’s Journey” towards self-knowledge and self-mastery. The Major Arcana of the New Tarot are meant to encapsulate a second and more outward-focused leg of that journey, in which the newly enlightened Fool steps out into the world to explore and to make his dreams a reality.

Just as the traditional Minor Arcana represent the fundamental tools that must be mastered in order to achieve self-knowledge, the Minor Arcana of the New Tarot represent the (somewhat more complex) tools that must be mastered in order to achieve worldly success.

I’m really looking forward to this deck being completed so I can receive my copy and start using it!

2 thoughts on “30-Day Tarot Challenge: Bonus!

Comment

