30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 28

This post is part of my 30-day tarot challenge (created by Ree @ Ephemeral Starlight). To see the rest of my posts for this challenge, please check here.

Does anyone you know not agree with your Tarot practices?

Why, yes indeed! If you’ve read the story on how I started reading tarot (lord knows I sure feel like I’ve told it enough around here), you’ll know that I was given my first tarot deck by my best friend, as a bit of a joke. I’m the heathen/heretic of our group of friends; we all grew up in church / Christian school together, and I’m the only one who strayed at the first opportunity.

Rin does not approve.

Rin does not approve.

The first time I did tarot readings for these friends, it was just two of them and of course they approved because they wanted to readings. In fact, they liked the readings so much that they asked me to do it again about 6 months later. So it was at the end of a book club meeting that I brought out my cards so we could do readings again.

Two friends (one our age, one my friend’s aunt) disapproved heavily. They gasped and shook their heads and hurriedly escaped to another room of the house. The rest of us proceeded to have fun with the tarot. Since then, one of those offended friends has mentioned her disapproval several times. Even when we have made a show of respecting her feelings by taking the tarot readings to another room and not discussing it in front of her, she still acted disgusted with us. (I tried explaining some of the Christian roots of the tarot, but she would hear none of it. It was like she wanted us to respect her feelings about it, but did not care to respect our feelings about it.)

Aside from that, I suspect that my parents may not approve. They are quite religious and have a tendency to point at random things and call them evil (when I was a kid, my mom made us get rid of everything unicorn, frog, and lizard related, because apparently those things were evil). So, I just keep that knowledge from them. If they come to my house and see my tarot decks, that’s fine, but I’m not going to bring it up to them in conversation or anything.

Comment

