30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 19

This post is part of my 30-day tarot challenge (created by Ree @ Ephemeral Starlight). To see the rest of my posts for this challenge, please check here.

Do you feel/think the cards “think” or have their own consciousness? What do you believe makes the cards “tick?” (Is it magic/outside influences or all in the mind?)

This is a slightly uncomfortable question for me, I guess. I don’t often talk about my spiritual/mythical beliefs because I think for the most part I’m not really very decided on many of them.

How do I explain this?

I don’t really think that the cards have a mind of their own. I don’t really think that the cards are being led by some supernatural being or force or whatever (or at least, I don’t think I think so… if that makes sense?).

cardshuffle

Mostly I believe that the cards – how they are shuffled, cut, and drawn – are driven by the person involved. It’s a personal energy kind of thing. If I do a reading for a client, that person shuffles and cuts the cards until they feel satisfied. At that point, it is their energy that has directed the flow of the cards. Now, I will draw them and place them in a spread for a reading, but it was their energy that directed them. It was their energy that placed the cards in that order, so that they would be drawn and placed into the spread they way that they were. All I do is look at the spread an interpret.

Okay, I’ve boiled it down to energy. But even that term sounds somewhat metaphysical-slash-spiritual in nature, to a degree. So, is it fate or mythical energy or something else? I guess you could say I’m still kinda undecided.

[Photo Credit: Thinkstock Images/Comstock/Getty Images]

One thought on “30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 19

  1. Pingback: 30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 24 | her sixth circle

Comment

