30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 17

This post is part of my 30-day tarot challenge (created by Ree @ Ephemeral Starlight). To see the rest of my posts for this challenge, please check here.

Do you do readings using reversals? Why / why not?

The Hanged Man - Mary-El tarot

My personal favorite reversal – The Hanged Man (Mary-El tarot)

Usually not. To be honest, I feel like I’m still getting familiar with many of the cards, so I don’t feel comfortable trying to interpret a reversal most of the time. Occasionally, I have tried. Especially when I’ve felt motivated to challenge myself. And sometimes it’s okay.

Some decks I have (*ahem*Mary-El*ahem*) that are so giant it’s pretty much impossible for me to shuffle them like I would normally prefer. So I have to resort to swirling them around on a table (or the floor) so that they’re sufficiently mixed up. [As a side note, I don’t like shuffling this way because it is hard to collect them all back into a nice, neat stack without doing damage to the edges of the cards.] When I am forced to shuffle this way, reversed cards are pretty much inevitable.

When this happens, often times I will just ignore the reversal and read the card as if it were upright. Sometimes I will attempt to read the reversal and if I’m having a hard time with it, then I read it as if it were upright. However, I will only do that if I can “undo” all the reversed cards in the reading. Which means, if I’ve already read card 2 as a reversal, then I can’t decide I want to read card 5 as upright even though it is reversed. I’m trying to follow some rules here!

10 thoughts on “30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 17

  1. I am very careful when shuffling not to reverse cards. For one thing, I think there are enough cards in a deck to cover all situations. Also, I’m more of a fan of Elemental Dignities, which I admit i’m still learning.

    • So, what happens if you *do* end up with a reversed card? Do you read it that way, or do you ignore the reversal and read it as a if it were upright?

      I’d love to incorporate more of the elemental dignities into my readings. I’m still too much of a novice, though. Maybe once I feel that I’ve *mastered* the card meanings more, I’ll add another layer to my readings.

      • I just turn them upright. I figure that’s my method and the cosmos knows what I’m going to do with it so I pay no attention to it reversed ;) For me, at least, consistency is the key. I use the same shuffle method every time, decide in advance which positions are what, and the Universe will give me the cards I need in the positions I need them. YMMV, of course.

      • Excellent question! The first time it happened I was reading for a friend. When I was laying them out I flipped one card upright without thinking. Then as I was reading them that card made NO sense, and I realized it was the one I flipped. I read the reverse meaning and sure enough it applied to our inquiry. So although I try to avoid it, if it happens I read both meanings.

Comment

