30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 16

This post is part of my 30-day tarot challenge (created by Ree @ Ephemeral Starlight). To see the rest of my posts for this challenge, please check here.

Do you ever use the Major Arcana without the Minor Arcana or vice versa?

Yeah, so this is basically like a “yes or no” question but I somehow need to write an entire blog post about it. I guess that’s fine because my answer is slightly more complicated than just a one-word answer.

The Moon, by AEDICULA ARCANORUM

AEDICULA ARCANORUM – One of the few Major-Arcana-Only decks that I would buy!

Major Arcana only
I believe I have done this a few times, when trying out different spreads, although I’m not sure if I’ve blogged about it on here. I have been thinking about doing this more lately, however, for specific situations. Sometimes you just get a pip card and it’s not the kind of answer you were looking for, you know?

Minor Arcana only
I’ve never done a reading with the Major Arcana removed. I supposed it might be interesting to do so, if I wanted more specific information about actions and stages/phases of a situation, as opposed to the kind of overall information the Major Arcana cards provide.

On a side note…
I have seen some decks that only include the Major Arcana. I have yet to purchase one of these. I might, if the art was amazing enough, but generally I just can’t bring myself to do it. I guess I just feel like I’m getting less than I could be getting if I bought a full 78-card deck instead. That is one reason I didn’t back a certain tarot Kickstarter project. It was only the major arcana, and it was the same price as (or higher than) many other full decks. Boo.

2 thoughts on “30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 16

Comment

