30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 13

This post is part of my 30-day tarot challenge (created by Ree @ Ephemeral Starlight). To see the rest of my posts for this challenge, please check here.

Is there a card that continuously stumps you when it is drawn? Why do you believe this to be so?

I know the answer to this is yes, but I’m having trouble remembering exactly which card(s) it is. Naturally, most of the court cards are tricky little stumpers. Especially those Pages, for some reason. It seems that the court cards are the most difficult to interpret for many a tarot reader. I suspect this is probably because they mostly just show people, sitting/standing there; not like in many of the other cards where there are actual things happening in the illustrations.

Pages_NigelJackson

Who ARE you people? (Nigel Jackson tarot)

I read about a technique for getting better acquainted with the court cards, and it seems like a great idea. The suggestion is to think of a person you know who is well represented by the characteristics of each court card. Then, each time you see that court card, you will think of that person and have a good idea of what kind of person the card represents. Sounds super awesome, right?

My only problem is that I generally try to avoid people, so I don’t really know SIXTEEN WHOLE PEOPLE to represent all of the different court cards! Sure, I’ve got a couple down, but still many of them are left as unknowns, waiting to watch me flounder when they show up in a reading. Perhaps, someday, I will buckle down and work on this more. That day, however, is not today. Another tarot project for later in the year, perhaps.

10 thoughts on “30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 13

  1. If you don’t personally know anyone who might be the personification of a card, what about relating them to a celebrity, or a book character that in your mind seems to be most like that card? Lon Milo DuQuette’s book on the Thoth deck actually lists celebrities associated with certain cards, based on birthdays and various other things. I can dig that up for you when I get home if you want?

    • You know, that’s a good idea. I had thought about celebrities, but didn’t really want to use them unless I had to, since I don’t really know them personally. I just feel like their public persona is probably not *them*, you know? But characters from a book – now that is a great idea! Thanks!

    • Or even movie characters, or tv, etc. I tend to associate the Q. of Wands with real estate people or someone involved in sales. They’re always ‘go go go’ pushing to make a sale, very high energy, not always entirely truthful ;)

        • There is no one who knows more about what the Tarot cards mean to you than you. I suggest that you do not adopt other meanings without careful consideration. You are the authority for your readings. That being said I have been surprised very recently with the proliferation of Knights turning up in a row in several of my readings.

        • I totally agree with fahrusha. I had the ‘real estate’ agent sort of pop up during a reading I did for someone who was in fact about to sell a house. Obviously that’s not always going to apply when she shows up. Go with your gut.

  2. Lately I’ve been getting several Knights in a row in readings for clients. These clients are mostly working women who are married, so unlikely to be suitors. I feel the Knights represent action in the areas specified by the suits.

Comment

