Making Goals to Keep

I don’t like to make new year resolutions, because, well, blah. Usually they go out the window pretty quickly, and generally they just seem like something one does at the start of a new year, like a tradition. Make a resolution (if only the tradition included keeping that resolution).

This year, however, I’m feeling especially motivated and so I wanted to set some goals. Since getting my mojo back (after stopping a medication I had been on for a year and a half), I’ve got a slightly new lease on life and thus want to make the most of things. I’ve actually found my mind swimming with ideas and things I want to DO and MAKE and EXPLORE! It seems like it’s been so long since I felt this way, and I want to keep up my momentum.

Life Enrichment Goals

Maya2012poster1. Go out once a month. My husband and I have said we want to go out and do one new/interesting thing each month. Over the past couple years, I’ve become even more introverted and so we’ve spent a lot more time at home. Now, I want to make sure we go out and experience new things together. This includes activities like:

  • Going to the Mayan exhibit at the museum (January)
  • Going to a Lindsey Stirling concert (February)
  • Nothing (March) – boo!
  • Roller skating (April)
  • Comicpalooza (May)
  • New Orleans + Weird Al Yankovic book signing (June)
  • Nothing (July) – boo!
  • Dallas for fun & games (August)
  • Bird banding (September)
  • GO TO IRELAND!!! (October)
  • Dance lessons (November)
  • Museum in Dallas (December)

Things that we’ve decided do NOT count:

  • Our semi-regular road trips for Magic events. These don’t count because we do them so often, they’re kind of routine by now.
  • Going to the movies. (Unless we’re especially weary that month, or it’s a grander experience, like at an Alamo Drafthouse kind of place. Then maybe.)

2. Take some kind of dance lessons with my husband. We’ve been wanting to take swing dancing lessons for years. I remember telling him, “As soon as I get down to my goal weight, we’ll do it to celebrate!” and I’ve been at my goal weight for a year now. This might end up being part of the monthly-interesting-thing goal up there, but no matter what, I want to do this.

Health & Body Goals

Goal21. Exercise at least once a week, for at least 30 minutes. I’m trying to be quantitative here, so saying something like “improve my self image” or “workout until I look more muscular and toned” isn’t good enough. So, at least 30 minutes a week. It’s kind of a small goal, but whatever. This can include yoga, kettlebell, or other exercises. Ideally, it will include both strength training and cardio.

2. Meditate for 10 minutes every day. I’ve tried meditating off and on over the years, but of course I never stuck with it. Last year, I was doing it pretty regularly for a while, when I was trying to relax my jaw, and it was definitely helping. But alas, once it helped enough, I quit. And now my jaw is back to being extra tight and spasmy. Ideally, this goal includes the phrase “remove all traces of tightness and twitching in my jaw,” so we’ll see.

Creative Goals

1. Post weekly on my book blog. I don’t have a ton of time for reading, or blogging, so I’m keeping things manageable, but I do want to make a point to post interesting content on a regular basis. So for now, my goal is to write one interesting/original post per week (in addition to stuff like weekly memes, reading goals and recaps, and cover reveals). This can be a review, an interview, a discussion, cover fawning, etc.

2. Post weekly on my tarot blog. A blog like this is hard to maintain on a regular schedule because it’s so dependent on the moment, and if/when I feel like I need a tarot reading. So, this year, I’d like to try to go a bit deeper. I used to do monthly readings, and I may do that occasionally again, but it’s probably not going to be a
regular feature. However, here are some of my tarot blog project ideas:

    • Obviously, the 30-day tarot challenge. I’ll be doing this throughout January, and so far I’m really enjoying it.
    • Getting to know the court cards (see the method here). My plan is to make a serious attempt to get to know each court card, associate it with someone I know, and write about it. This should give me a much firmer foundation and familiarity when I see these cards in a reading.
cmykake

The CMYK cake I made a couple of years ago.

  • Decks I wish existed. This is where I talk about decks I would love to have, but have not found any mention of their existence. An extra wishy wishlist.
  • Possibly: deck reviews, deck/card comparisons, ideas for creating a deck

3. Bake something interesting once a month. And by “interesting” I don’t mean peanut butter cookies. I’m a fricking certified pastry chef! I should be baking! The good thing is that now I’ve finally gotten my baking mojo back, and I’ve been inspired to make all sorts of things lately. I figure at least once a month is a good goal, because it’s not too time/energy/money-consuming that way. If I’m feeling especially inspired, I may even blog about it somewhere.

Recreational Goals

1. Read 60 books by the end of the year. Oh, I’ve set all kinds of more specific reading goals for this year, but to keep it simple, this is my main goal. Approximately five books a month. In the past year, this has been absolutely no problem, but as my life fills up with other activities that involve going outside, etc. I might not have as much time for reading. We shall see.

And if there is time, I would love to…

To the Moon2. Complete 3 (or more) of the video games in my backlog. This is not going to be an exhaustive list, because as we can see, my time is filling up quickly. However, these are the ones I’d like to finish. Several of them I’m already halfway through, some I haven’t started yet (and some of them I’m just watching my husband play but hey, it still counts!).

  • To the Moon
  • Final Fantasy XIII
  • Bayonetta
  • Chantelise
  • Shira Oka
  • Civilization V
  • Myst

3. Finish reading one visual novel. I’ve started reading several, and there’s so many more I want to read! (This is definitely a wishful “if I have time” thing.) This means any of the following:

  • Katawa Shoujo (with at least Rin, the path I’m currently on!)
  • Fate/stay night
  • A Magician’s Night (at least the demo)
  • Umineko

4. Play an awesome RPG. Now, I know this looks similar to #2 up there, but this is different. That goal is about crossing things off a list. This goal is about playing an RPG for the pure delight of doing so. If I can’t get my hands on a PS3 in order to play Ni no Kuni (!!!), then I’ll probably reply Lost Odyssey, Eternal Sonata, or Final Fantasy 9.

5 thoughts on “Making Goals to Keep

  1. Pingback: Revisiting 2013 Goals | her sixth circle

Comment

