30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 3

This post is part of my 30-day tarot challenge (created by Ree @ Ephemeral Starlight). To see the rest of my posts for this challenge, please check here.

Do you have more than one deck that you use, and, if so, do you have a favorite? If not, why do you like the deck you have chosen?

Yes, I have several decks. I am an art fiend, and thanks to my enabler friend submerina, my wishlist is pretty much ever-growing! I have a few favorites, and I’ll explain why.

Three of Bows - Fulfilment (Wildwood tarot)Wildwood Tarot (more info)
This was one of the decks I bought earliest, and it was probably not the best move. The deck is heavy and deep, and by delving into it so early, I really almost drowned myself a couple of times. However, it is now my favorite deck to use when I know I need deep answers. When I need a no-nonsense, profound, tough love kind of reading, I reach for the Wildwood, and it has yet to disappoint me.

Mary-El TarotMary-El Tarot (more info)
Also, thanks to submerina, I fell in love with the art for this deck. At the time, it was unpublished and so I joined the slavering masses, pining for its publication. Eventually, joyfully, it was released to the public and I pre-ordered this baby. I find this deck to read similarly to Wildwood, in that it is deep. But this deck is also dark. When I’m looking for a strong reading, and feeling a bit more adventurous (and not as keen for a chastisement), I reach for the Mary El. My only complaint about this deck is that it’s way too friggin huge for my hands.

Joie de Vivre TarotJoie de Vivre Tarot (more info)
My husband bought me this deck as a gift and it has remained my absolute, easy favorite. Whenever I need to bring a deck with me somewhere, I bring this one. Not only is the art gorgeous and fun, but each reading is full of joy, optimism, and light-hearted comfort. It is a pleasure to read with, and I find that when I read with it, I spend a lot of extra time just looking at the cards because they’re so pretty and so detailed! Hands down, this one’s my quick go-to deck.

5 thoughts on “30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 3

  1. My downfall was joining Tarot Forum. I had a sizable collection before joining, but within about a year of joining it had more than doubled! I love the Wildwood, too, but don’t have the others.

    • Oh man, like I need even MORE places to find out about decks. xD

      I actually feel like I have surplus right now. I’ve gotten 3 new ones relatively recently and haven’t even gotten to try them all out properly. Boo.

    • I know the feeling. I have so many that I never even touch. Well, these days I have almost no time to play with any of them anyway. It drives me crazy. I’m such a Tarot addict, I’m going into withdrawal! ;)

  2. I am honoured to be your enabler of choice *curtsey* Take it from me though, do NOT join the AT forum unless you want to see a lot of action of the “SHUT UP AND TAKE MY MONEY” variety. Learn from me: in Sept ’09 I had 1 deck. In Nov ’09 I had 7. So… yeah.

    • Haha! Well, the good thing is that my budget is pretty limited so I can’t just overload myself on new decks. So, when I do have a little extra money to spend on a new deck, it’s like a special occasion and I get to look through my wishlist and decide which one I want the most. :)

Comment

