30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 2

This post is part of my 30-day tarot challenge (created by Ree @ Ephemeral Starlight). To see the rest of my posts for this challenge, please check here.

What was your first deck and how did you get it?

Girlfriends Tarot

The Sun – Girlfriends Tarot

Yesterday I mentioned that the reason I started learning tarot was because my best friend gave me a tarot deck as a Christmas gift one year. Yes, this was my first deck. It was the Girlfriends Tarot, and she picked it out as kind of a joke, because she and I and another friend were getting together around the holidays, and the deck was “girlfriends”!

So, I opened the deck, we giggled about it, and then she was like, “Now, give us a reading!” and I was like, “Um, okay?” We used the booklet that came with the cards to lay out the cards in a simple 3-card spread. And then we looked at the cards and I said “Now what?” because I had no idea what any of the cards meant (and of course the LWB that came with this deck did not include meanings or even keywords!).

Luckily, I had a smartphone and was able to get 3G reception out there in the middle of nowhere at my friend’s house, and we looked up the card meanings. The readings for my two friends were SO right on, that they were surprised and amazed and asked me to do it again in the near future. I was so inspired, I went out the next week and bought my second deck (a “real” deck, I called it), the Mystic Faerie tarot – complete with a wonderful guidebook!

2 thoughts on “30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 2

    • One might even say tarot was fatefully thrust upon me! :) Thanks! (Between you and me, I’ve already got the first 15 posts written up. Trying to give myself a head start, so I don’t lose momentum, ha!)

Comment

