30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 1

I found out about this awesome challenge (created by Ree @ Ephemeral Starlight) via submerina. Of course, I like a challenge; especially one that involves things I enjoy (like tarot). Let’s see if I can keep up with it, shall we?

What introduced you to/got you involved in Tarot?

10 of Swords - Radiant Rider Waite

Gaspu!

I’d known about tarot for a long time, but it wasn’t until I went on a weekend trip to New Orleans with a friend that I got more acquainted. She and I were walking around the French Quarter and saw all kinds of “fortune tellers” everywhere. My friend is missing the “life line” on her palms, so she was really curious to get a palm reading. Unfortunately, the woman she chose was a complete fake and spouted a bunch of nonsense that was super UNtrue about my friend. Sigh!

However, there was this one voodoo shop off the square that seemed a bit more legitimate, so I scheduled an appointment with their tarot reader. During the reading, my friend sat to the side and watched as this woman laid out my cards in the Celtic Cross spread. At the time, the reading was somewhat confusing, so I tried to remember as much of it as possible, for further researching later. The card I remember the most, however, was the final outcome card: Ten of Swords. The reader actually gasped when she saw it and asked me if I’d been betrayed by the person in question (I hadn’t).

Funny thing, now several years later, I still look back on that reading and chew on its meanings. Just recently, I realized that the entire reading was referring to a different person that I thought it was (which should have been SUPER obvious, but for some reason it wasn’t).

In any case, that was my first taste of tarot, and I really liked it. It wasn’t until later that year, at Christmas, that my best friend gave me a tarot deck as a gag gift, and asked me to give her a reading. That was when I realized I had no idea how to read the cards, but we looked up the meanings as we went – and were astounded! Ever since then, it’s been one of my biggest interests.

6 thoughts on “30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 1

  1. Pingback: 30-Day Tarot Challenge: Day 2 | her sixth circle

  2. OMG! I can’t believe I FORGOT about my first tarot reading and how that really influenced my deeper interest in it! What a nobble :) Glad you’re doing this too – I like to share in your story (Loving the new theme!)

  3. Pingback: 30 Day Tarot Challenge Meme (Questions 26-30) | Benebell Wen

Comment

