Reading, As a Reader

My tarot journey began by reading for friends, but even that is infrequent, so most of my reading is done for myself. Last week I did my first ever tarot reading for a stranger. Not only a stranger, but a stranger over the internet. I have to say, I was a bit nervous about the outcome; however, I’ve been feeling increasingly confident in my skills lately (which is why I agreed to do the reading at all). It turned out well, and my querent was pleased with the results. Yay!

Then today I came across an interesting spread used by The Little Red, which kind of assesses me as a tarot reader and how my journey can/will progress. Apparently this spread was in the February edition of the TABI Tracker newsletter, which I don’t remember seeing! Oh well, I see it now, and I want to try!

First, the spread:

1. About you in general: what is your most important characteristic?
2. What strengths do you already have as a reader?
3. What limits do you feel as a reader?
4. What key lesson can you learn on your developmental journey?
5. How can you be open to learning and developing on this journey?
6. What is the potential outcome of this journey?

Next, my cards:

Mary-El Tarot

1: 4 of Swords, 2: 8 of Wands, 3: Ace of Disks, 4: XV The Devil, 5: 10 of Swords, 6: XVI The Tower (Mary-El)

O…kay. (I see the Tower there at position 6 and I begin to worry. I shall look further.)

Let’s see here.

What is my most important characteristic?
Four of Swords usually means “rest” for me, but this image says something slightly different. More like, I’m comfortable being alone. Learning and growing in solitude.

What strengths do I already have as a reader?
I continue to nurture my passion for the cards. I keep going, and continue to engage in tarot, even if my results/readings don’t always turn out exactly right. Ha.

What limits do I feel as a reader?
I’m still a bit of a newbie to tarot. Well, yes.

What key lesson can I learn on my developmental journey?
To stay true to myself and my good intentions. Resist any temptation to use tarot for sinister purposes.

How can I be open to learning and developing on this journey?
Just let go and let it happen. Take a leap of faith and accept the change that is happening to me.

What is the potential outcome of this journey?
I’ll finally be freed of the physical stress and tension, once I’ve let go and completely transitioned as a full (no longer newb) reader.

Well! This is encouraging. And also slightly disappointing, to know that the cards still think I’m a newb at this. But at least there is hope for the future, and encouragement to continue reading. I feel so shy right now.

2 thoughts on “Reading, As a Reader

  1. Hey girl! You mind if I throw an opinion out there about the “newb” card? All of the M-E Aces are powerful, but this one feels especially _strong_ to me. It’s very dark, in a natural sense; the dark, primal side of Earth. Base instincts, desires, needs, drives; not the kind of stuff most people would own up to in casual conversation! :) Do you perhaps skirt around those issues when they come up in a reading?

    • (I invite you to throw opinions out there about ANY of my readings!)

      Hmmm… You might be on to something here. I might actually be struggling with some of these base needs/desires right now, which is probably throwing a lot of things off for me. It’s interesting and frustrating, because the tarot keeps _telling_ me about it, but now exactly telling me how to _deal_ with it.

Comment

